Archive Website:
Whats On & Book Tickets
About Druid
New Writing
Funding & Support
Visiting Us
Shop Online
The Mick Lally Theatre & Venue Hire

This page was archived on 28/03/2017 and is no longer updated.

The contents of this page may be out of date or incomplete. Go here to browse our current site

Join our mailing list  

Follow Druid  twitter  facebook  YouTube


The Year of the Hiker 2006 - Irish Tour

John B Keane


    For more information about the Druid archive please click here.

    Production History

    Following the critical acclaim of the company’s award-winning production of Sharon’s Grave (2003) and Sive (2002), Druid returns to the work of John B Keane with The Year of the Hiker, the last in the Druid Keane Trilogy.

    About the Tour

    Directed by Garry Hynes and featuring a stellar Irish cast, this major new production opened in Galway’s Town Hall Theatre on 9th May for two weeks, followed by a limited run at the Gaiety Theatre Dublin from May 22nd. The autumn tour followed, stopping at 8 venues over two months.

    About the Play

    Written in 1964, The Year of the Hiker marked a significant departure for Keane. Set in the sixties and shot through with yearning and regret for lost love, the play contains some of Keane’s most lyrical and tender writing. On production the play immediately gained a major place in the Keane canon and has been produced almost continuously in Ireland over the last forty years.


    Mary Lacey
    Sarah Greene

    Hiker Lacey
    Mick Lally

    Dr. William Dolly
    Nick Lee

    Joe Lacey
    Garrett Lombard

    Kate Lacey
    Eleanor Methven

    Simey Lacey
    Aaron Monaghan

    Catherine Walsh

    Creative Team

    Directed by
    Garry Hynes

    Francis O’Connor

    Movement Direction
    David Bolger

    Costume Designer
    Kathy Strachan

    Lighting Designer
    Davy Cunningham

    Sound Designer
    John Leonard

    Projection Design
    Jon Driscoll

    Sam Jackson

    Casting Director
    *Maureen Hughes

    Production Team

    Production Manager
    Eamonn Fox

    Technical Manager
    Barry O’Brien

    Company Stage Manager
    Tim Smith

    Stage Manager
    Sarah Lynch

    Assistant Stage Manager
    Fiona Lawless

    Shona McCarthy

    Wardrobe Supervisor
    Doreen McKenna

    Wigs & Make Up
    Val Sherlock

    Set Construction
    Theatre Production Services (TPS)

    Technical Crew
    Aidan Wallace

    Gus Dewar

    Pete Nelson
    Tony Cording
    Damon MacConville

    Scenic Painters
    Sandra Butler
    Ciara Moore
    Luca Mattana

    Kate Bowe PR

    Graphic Design
    Bite! Associates

    Production Photography
    Keith Pattison

    Poster Photograph
    Bill Doyle

    Cello – Tara-Lee Byrne
    Double Bass – Dave Redmond
    Guitar – Fionta de Barra


    Artistic Director
    Garry Hynes

    Managing Director
    Fergal McGrath

    Financial Controller
    Bernie Harrigan

    Felicity O’Brien

    Acting Administrator
    Sinead McPhillips

    New Writing Manager
    Thomas Conway

    Administration Assistant
    Carmel Curley



    Portlaoise – Dunamaise Arts Centre
    December 11 – 18, 2006

    Newbridge – Riverbank Arts Centre
    December 9 – 10, 2006

    Longford – Backstage Theatre
    December 4 – 6, 2006

    Dun Laoghaire – Pavilion Theatre
    November 27 – December 2, 2006

    Letterkenny – An Grianán
    November 20 – 25, 2006

    Ennis – Glór
    November 13 – 18, 2006

    Cork – Cork Opera House
    November 6 – 11, 2006

    Tralee – Siamsa Tíre
    October 30 – November 4, 2006

    Productions archive:

    By Title | By Year

    This page was archived on 28/03/2017 and is no longer updated.

    The contents of this page may be out of date or incomplete. Go here to browse our current site