Archive Website:
Whats On & Book Tickets
About Druid
New Writing
Funding & Support
Visiting Us
Shop Online
The Mick Lally Theatre & Venue Hire

This page was archived on 28/03/2017 and is no longer updated.

The contents of this page may be out of date or incomplete. Go here to browse our current site

Join our mailing list  

Follow Druid  twitter  facebook  YouTube


News   « back to news index

18 January 2016

Major Accolades for Galway Theatre Companies as Irish Times Irish Theatre Award Nominations Announced

Galway’s theatre companies and artists have been recognised once again as a leading force in Irish theatre after receiving nominations in almost every category of The Irish Times Irish Theatre Awards which were announced on Saturday.

Galway artists received a very impressive haul being nominated in 11 of 13 categories, representing 30% of the total number of nominations. The strength of Galway theatre talent will feature strongly in the Galway 2020 European Capital of Culture bid.

Druid swept the boards, receiving 10 nominations including Best Production, while Galway International Arts Festival also made a strong showing with 4 nominations including 2 nods for Festival productions in the Best New Play category.

DruidShakespeare, a Druid Theatre production co-produced with Lincoln Center Festival New York, of Richard II, Henry IV: Parts 1 & 2, and Henry V, in an new adaptation by Mark O’Rowe received a coveted Best Production nomination. This award was won last year by the Galway International Arts Festival and Landmark production of Enda Walsh’s Ballyturk.

Druid’s Artistic Director Garry Hynes received a nomination for Best Director for DruidShakespeare.

In the Best New Play category, Galway International Arts Festival productions are nominated for two of the four plays competing for this prestigious award; Frank McGuinness’ The Match Box, a Festival production starring Galway actress Cathy Belton, and Amy Conroy’s Luck Just Kissed You Hello, in which she also starred, a co-production by the Festival and HotForTheatre.

Both Galway International Arts Festival and Druid are nominated for the Judge’s Special Award – the Festival ‘for its consistent supportive role as a co-producer to independent theatre’ and Druid for ‘creating a true ensemble, the pinnacle of this rare achievement being DruidShakespeare’.

Actors who tread the boards of Galway’s stages are strongly represented in all four acting categories with Derbhle Crotty and Aisling O’ Sullivan both nominated for Best Actress for their roles in DruidShakespeare. Cathy Belton is also nominated for the title of Best Actress for her role in the Galway International Arts Festival’s production of Frank McGuinness’ The Match Box.

Marty Rea is nominated as Best Actor and Rory Nolan for Best Supporting Actor nomination, both for DruidShakepeare; while Decadent Theatre’s Peter Campion also received a Best Supporting Actor nomination for his role in The Pillowman by Martin McDonagh, in a co-production with Belfast Lyric Theatre.

Galway actress Clare Barrett is nominated in the Best Supporting Actress category, for her roles in The Train by Arthur Riordan and Bill Whelan, in a Rough Magic production.

Druid’s creative team also received nominations for Best Set Design – Francis O’Connor; Best Costume Design – Doreen McKenna and Francis O’Connor; and Best Sound Design – Gregory Clarke and Conor Linehan, all for DruidShakespeare.

The Irish Times Irish Theatre Awards will take place at the National Concert Hall, Dublin on 6th March.

This page was archived on 28/03/2017 and is no longer updated.

The contents of this page may be out of date or incomplete. Go here to browse our current site